Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Many believe that the teachers should be paid on the basis of their students' academic performances. This is because they believe doing so would actually improve the overall academic performance of the students and that the teachers shall be paid on the basis of their merit in a particular academic year. This argument, however, is a controversial one mainly because it fails to consider the flip side. I do not concur with the aforementioned because of the reasons stated below.

Firstly, a student's performance in an academic year is not a holistic measure of what they learn in the classroom. There are many other factors involved. For instance, many students prefer going to tuitions and attending extra classes just because they think doing so would help escalate their academic grades. As a result, they hardly concentrate in the classroom because they think the topic being covered would be covered in a more profound manner in the tuitions and that they'd be able to grasp more of what is being taught by the tuition personnel. This acts as an impediment to the teachers' efforts to teach in the classrooms. Furthermore, a large part of the academic performance rests solely on the student. If a student develops an interest in the subject and puts his nose to the grindstone to learn each and every concept, he's much more likely to succeed than the student who does little to understand it mainly out of indolence or other distractions. The point being is that the teacher cannot account completely for the academic performance of the students and that the responsibility to score good rests heavily on the students' shoulders.

Secondly, if such a methodology were to be employed, many teachers would actually resort to home tutoring primarily because they are more concerned about their salaries than the students' understanding of the subject. In such a case, the situation descends into a tale of greediness and ultimately, it is the students who suffer. Additionally, If home tutoring is made compulsory, the entire schedule of the students is turned upside down. A student, on an average, spends about 6 hours in school. Employing such a policy would mean that the students would have no choice but to attend the extra tuitions even if that's not what they want. If, on an average, a student is made to attend 4 extra tuitions every day, each about an hour long, they'd spend (waste rather) a good 4-5 hours which could have, otherwise, been very well utilized for recreational activities. On returning back home, they'd only have a handful of time to play, do homework, watch TV, undertake household chores etc. Imagine the amount of pressure being put on the students. Consequently, the sleep pattern is affected, the overall physical and mental well being is stagnated and life becomes mundane. In such a situation how can you expect a student to perform well in the exams? The plan ultimately backfires.

In addition to that, if a teacher's salary were to be based on students' academic performance, this would bring about a biased way of giving of marks. We have to be largely aware of the fact that students' test papers are graded by teachers, and if a teacher receives a higher salary were the student to perform well, needless to say there would be many unscrupulous individuals who would accord their students higher marks to their own benefit. Critics might argue that assessment of a particular class of students can be done by a different teacher, but I foresee a system that would be plagued with corruption and bribery. What if the class teacher bribes another teacher, or what if the teacher intentionally gives bad grades because they know that it would affect the class teacher (who might be someone they do not favor)? Many what-ifs might take place which would ultimately jeopardize and challenge the education system. In light of that, I think that the statement is not valid and sound.