College and university education should be free for all students, fully financed by the government.

Some people claim that governments should make college and university education free for all students. On the contrary, other people are sure that governments will be worse off if they offer free education. Undoubtedly, the statement given is rather controversial; however, a closer examination reveals that not only governments but also students from all around the world will be better off if there is a possibility to study without paying fees.

To begin with, everybody has a right to pursue their studies. However, it is known that a huge part of citizens in the majority of countries cannot afford to obtain an education which is non-paid. We can look at Gini coefficient that shows a rate of inequality in almost each country. The results reveal that only a few countries can be called lands with a low inequality among people. That means that there is a horrible number of individuals all around the world who have no chance to earn enough money to cover all the fees for education. Meanwhile, many talented and genial people are raised in low-income families. If their abilities are not developed, the world will get fewer and fewer people who could make new inventions and raise countries’ economies, and technologies. New talents are one of the reasons why education should be free worldwide.

Another reason in support of my opinion is international students. Nowadays more and more countries have a wish to get the best students so they could bring useful knowledge. However, the best education requires an enormous amount of money. Also, it is a common thing when universities make a more significant fee for overseas students. Therefore, countries lose a chance to get the best brains because of an unbelievable cost of education, which is impossible to cover for a myriad of international students even if they have an excellent academic performance.

Education fees may have some benefits, too. Universities can spend money on new equipment, laboratories, libraries and students’ accommodation. Also, there would be a possibility to pay the best students scholarships. However, all these things can be made without taking money from students. Many governments can afford to support a wide range of universities. Grants, subsidiaries will help universities to accumulate enough money to be able to teach free. That could be achieved if governments paid more attention to the way they distribute their resources.

Finally, free education will create a competition among prospective students. Undoubtedly, there is no chance that universities will be able to teach everyone for free; therefore, they will admit a limited number of students. Such a policy will make young people study hard and strive for the best grades and achievements so they could be accepted in the best educational institutes. Governments will also be better off, as they will get high-qualified graduates who will perform well on their jobs.

Once there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is clear that free education has more advantages than paid one. Both students and governments will be better off if there is a possibility to study free.