Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that building a store that will be selling health food and other health-related products in Plainville will not have a lack of customers because of several reasons such as high sales of running shoes and exercise equipment, a myriad of members in the local health club, and a new program for schoolchildren, which emphasizes the benefits of sports. That's why the author anticipates a huge number of customers and, therefore, profit. The writer's argument may seem logical at first glance; however, the author provides incomplete analysis and weak evidence that result in groundless cause-effect reasoning.

First of all, the vice president of the company writes about their previous experience that shows that the most profitable areas are those where residents prefer healthy life. That assumption may be correct; however, the author doesn't mention any information about their experience. Was there a survey among citizens? Or, maybe, they asked an independent expert to estimate which areas will bring the hugest profit. One more possible situation is that the company gathered statistics itself. Unless the author provides more detailed information on this aspect, the argument will remain weak because of unsupported assumption. Moreover, the writer claims that healthier regions become more profitable than other areas. However, the author fails to provide any evidence except for unreliable above-written experience. What if the profits were high just because those areas were more populated than others with a small number of citizens? Then the distinction would have been explained. Otherwise, the author's argument seems to be particularly doubtful. If the vice president had provided more relevant information, his argument would have been way more convincing.

Secondly, the author claims that sales of exercise clothes and equipment have always been high that leads to his conclusion that many citizens maintain a healthy way of life. His assumption could have been correct; however, the author did not provide any statistics that would support his statement. A big part of people buy sports clothes just because it is comfortable, and the quality of clothes is usually appropriate. Moreover, nowadays running shoes are a great fashion style. People wear them with dresses and skirts; however, that doesn't mean that these individuals do some sports or maintain a healthy way of life. Therefore, the writer's assumption is not convincing at all.

Thirdly, the vice president anticipates a new generation of customers as young people are involved in a new program. Nevertheless, the writer mentions that this course is obligatory; therefore, children do not have a choice. That's why it is impossible to make a conclusion whether schoolchildren will do sports and buy exercise equipment or not. If the author mentioned that all the children are engrossed, then it would have been reasonable that the children would become new shop's customers. Otherwise, it is not a necessary condition.

In conclusion, it should be mention that the author fails to provide essential evidence in support of his position. His arguments may seem logical; however, a closer examination has revealed that his reasoning is not convincing and has several flaws, which should be corrected.