Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Nature's way franchises will be successful in the town of Plainsville.

The author assumes that Nature's way, a chain store selling health-related products in the town of Plainsville would be very successful. However, he lacks demographic trends to support his stance. profit comes from how many people buy, but if the number of people living in Plainsville is short in number in the first place, it would be hard to say that Nature's way would prove to be successful. In fact, even though residents in Plainsville live healthy lives, it is hard to generalize whether every single residents live a healthy life and are all willing to buy products from Nature's way. Speaking of living healthy life, there could be other strong competitive stores selling relative products that the residents have used. therefore, to suggest that Nature's way at Plainsville would prove to be successful, the author would need to consider competition between other industries and added numerical evidence to support his assumption.

In addition, author mentions that the store selling running shoes and exercise clothing have been successful in Plainsville. Yet, the credibility of merchants report are not described in details. What if the organization of merchants report are not involved in the field of shoes and clothing? even if the author guarantee the reliability of report, the extend of all-time high are not clear. Hence, the author need to consider various conditions of different period and the degree of "high".

The author suggest one reason to support his opinion as the number of people enrolled in the local health club, which is steadily increase and the classes regarding training and aerobics are always full. nonetheless, even the most people in Plainsville enrolled in local health club, profits of Nature's way could be lower than expected because of the dearth of people in local health club. The sample measure of the local health club member are not detailed. Besides, there could be some people who are only interested in weight training, not the health-related products. therefore, the high enrollment probability of people in Plainsville cannot guarantee the profits of successful of Nature's way.

The author assumes that the children and students in Plainsville would be potential customers of Nature's way because these children are required to attend in a fitness program. he lacks the widespread attitude of student who follow the rule because most students could satisfy minimum extend of assignment. Thus, students probably might not be active as to do more actions for their healthier life. even though they are copious of students who are willing to buy Nature's way product, the number of students in Plainsville could be relatively small to be successful.

In conclusion, the degree of demographic data unwarranted in most assumption and data the author used to support his stance. even in guarantee the degree of number of people live in Plainsville, willingness of people and creativeness between other product and Nature's way product cannot be ensured.