Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

It is stated that in the town of Plainsville a new chain store is opening its next franchise and they are hoping it, as a successful one comparing with the other franchises in other areas .Along with the citizens of Plainsville, the school going children are thought to be the potential customers of this store. However, before evaluating the argument some assumptions need to be discussed in order to decide whether the argument is reasonable or not .

Firstly ,it is assumed that Plainsville residents tend to live a healthy lifestyle ,so Nature”s Way will be profitable here just like other areas.People of Plainsville buy lots of running shoes and clothing all the time at a high rate .But that does not mean they will be interested in healthy food and healthy eating .Perhaps it might happen they actually love to eat unhealthy food ,so they do exercise to shed the extra pounds.Or it might happen that they actually just buy these equipments ,but due to laziness they do not go to gym.And if any of these become true ,then the author”s argument will surely wear out .

Secondly,as the weight training and aerobics classes are always full ,it has been assumed that all the citizens of Plainsville is very health conscious. But it might happen that only a couple of people are health conscious. Or it also might happen that there are paucity of aerobics classes and gyms in the town so people try to utilize from the few opportunities .So these classes have been always crowded. It does not indicate that they will love healthy food or healthy products the way they love to do exercises .If any of these become true ,then author”s argument will definitely be undermined .

Thirdly,it is assumed that the school going children of Plainsville is the most prospectful customers of the chain shop, as they have to attend a fitness program where importance of regular exercise has always been emphasized .Just because the children have to attend a program and they are aware about exercise does not make them to be interested in healthy eating .Perhaps it might happen that they love fast foods or junk foods but they also do exercise .Or it also might happen not all the children join in that program. Or even if they join they do not enjoy that much .if all of these become true ,the argument of the author will surely be weakened .

In conclusion ,the argument where it stands now ,is considerably flawed due to numerous assumptions and proper justifications .If the author can give some proper evidence and explain those assumptions, ,Nature”s Way –the chain shop might expect a handsome benefit in near future from the Plainsville residence .