Mistakes are necessary for discovery or progress

Some people have a claim that it is necessary to have mistakes in your life as it will help to make progress. On the contrary, others have another position; they are sure that mistakes should be avoided. Undoubtedly, the statement given is controversial; however, a closer examination reveals that errors are genuinely helpful for people’s life.

To begin with, it should be stated that mistakes help people discover themselves. How many athletes did start doing some sports only to make sure that they need something else? Ole Einar Bjoerndalen who has the most numerous Olympic titles had done football until he decided to give up that sport and move on doing biathlon. Had he chosen biathlon without such method of trial-and-error, maybe he would never have become such a widely known sportsman as there would have been a possibility that he would get bored of that winter sport right from the beginning? To exemplify this reason in support of my opinion better, we can take young people who only start their life path. They have to choose a university, and a field they will study. For a myriad of pupils, it is rather difficult to decide whether they will be lawyers or economists, for instance. So they need to try something at first. Even if it reveals that they are mistaken, they have at least understood what they desire more. That’s why mistakes are so significant in our lives.

However, not only social aspects of our lives demand mistakes. Nowadays we have the much technical equipment, such as laptops, gadgets, autopilot cars, etc. Would progress be so fast, if scientists had not made any mistakes while doing research? The answer is definitely ‘no.' Making models, researchers develop various versions of a future invention. When they comprehend that something went wrong, that can lead to new conclusions, whereas new findings mean new topics for the research.

Of course, mistakes have some bad sides, too. It is an undeniable fact that errors take our time. Sometimes we have to pay for the lost time; for instance, in business. However, as it was mentioned, mistakes can lead us to discoveries, which can beat all the losses sustained.

The last reason to be stated is about human relationships. Mistakes teach us to forgive. Moreover, we learn to know that nothing and no one is perfect; that we need to understand and take these imperfections. The most important thing that we learn when we err is to forgive ourselves. There are a plethora of ruined relationships because of inability to make mistakes and forgive. That’s why we need to be mistaken sometimes: just to maintain relationships with other people.

Once there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is quite obvious that without mistakes our life will be a lack of progress, both technical and social, and normal human relationships.