The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Some people claim that cooperation is necessary to prepare young people for leadership in government, industry, etc. Other people are sure that competition is the best way to do this. Undoubtedly, the statement given is rather controversial; moreover, the discussion of that statement is necessary because the leaders make the future of our countries - our future. Nevertheless, a closer examination reveals that cooperation is the best solution to prepare youths for being leaders.

First of all, working in cooperation helps people to learn from one another. Once you don't know an answer to some question, you can always ask your co-workers: the possibility that one of them will have an answer is relatively high. Moreover, you can always learn how to resolve some problems and develop new methods. Why does studying in schools and universities involve much group work? Why do policemen collaborate while dissolving cases? Why do scientists prefer doing research together? The reason is that cooperation lets people find answers and solutions more quickly and make new discoveries. That's why cooperation is necessary: new leaders will be able to work together; therefore, the society will be better off from the leaders' great decision-making.

Another reason is that cooperation teaches people to be patient and tolerant. One of the most important things in our lives is an ability to work and get along with other people. If you cannot maintain a stable relationship with others, you will not become a great leader. Nowadays politics is quite important: governments of distinct countries resolve many problems in collaboration; sometimes, one country corroborates another one. Imagine a leader who cannot find an approach to other politicians: such person will make his country politically weak, which will worsen its citizens' living standards as these standards partly depend on the international relationship.

Competition has some advantages, too. While competing, young people have a strong motivation to become better and more powerful than other youths. That may result in qualified and steadfast leaders with great knowledge who can defend his/her point of view. However, competition may lead to unfavorable consequences: some people can have an incentive to play unfairly. For instance, cheating on exams while studying in the university, or betraying other people. That's how the competition can become harmful.

Finally, cooperation may help young people to make new acquaintances. When you work in a team, you get a possibility to make friends with a plenty of professionals who may be familiar with your teammates. It is widely known that more people bring more useful connections. That's the reason why collaboration with anyone may cause to a favorable outcome.

Once there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is particularly clear that collaboration would help young people to become excellent leaders. Maybe, if the real leaders had practiced such an approach, the world could have been more peaceful than it is in the present days.