The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Some people claim that the well-being of society can tell whether a country’s leaders are efficient or not. Other people are sure that it is not the main factor of the leaders’ effectiveness. Undoubtedly, the statement given is rather controversial; hence, we should pay attention to that topic as the well-being of society can be measured as one of the most important things in the world. A closer examination reveals, that a country’s leaders’ effectiveness is mostly determined by the well-being of citizens; though, I agree with the statement given.

First of all, if the country’s population has high living standards, it means that the government is able to maintain land’s economy and distribute goods among people effectively. Moreover, the well-being of society is also determined by the country’s politics. When a county is powerful, rich and friendly towards other countries, such a strategy will definitely help it to allocate more resources. Stable economy and adequate politics will encourage many foreign investors to bring their money to the country. For instance, a strong stock exchange would become a pleasant opportunity to invest. More investment means more money for the country’s citizens. To exemplify, we can consider developing and developed countries. Developed countries have a stable economy, low rate of unemployment and people are sure about their future lives. Of course, the efficient ruling of these countries’ leaders led to this outcome. Considering developing countries, we can say that politicians are not able to maintain their responsibilities; that resulted in a lower quality of people’s lives.

Another point to be made is that well-being of society can help to determine whether governments are corrupt or not. When leaders steal from people, society’s well-being worsens. It can be proved by some examples. For instance, the most corrupt countries in the world are located in Africa (Zimbabwe, Zambia, Yemen, etc.). If we look at statistics, we can see that the quality of African countries’ citizens’ life is the worst. Of course, corruption is not the only factor of the well-being of society; however, it makes a huge part of it. Nevertheless, if the country’s government is honest and does its best, then the well-being of society will undoubtedly become better.

Of course, sometimes the effectiveness of a country’s leaders is not determined by the well-being of its citizens. We can consider a scenario when a country’s economy was in a deep crisis, so the previous leaders gave up their power. New politicians may be particularly efficient; however, due to the state of the country’s economy, they couldn’t make the well-being of society way better in such short time. However, in that case, the effectiveness can be measured according to statistical data, such as changes in GDP per capita or expenditure on health care.

Finally, the well-being of society cannot be made better by itself. It always requires government’s intervention. New roads, hospitals, schools, etc. are always a product of leaders’ decision-making. That’s why we can say that the leaders may be efficient if such commodities are built in the country.

Once there are arguments to be made for both of sides, it is quite clear that the statement given is true: we can evaluate leaders’ effectiveness according to the well-being of society.