The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

Should scrutiny of the well-being of country’s citizens be the best measurable tool for whether the leader is effective or not? I disagree with the author’s assertion since so called “well-being” can have different meanings for each people. Besides, since some policy focusing on specific well-being such as universal education would make some people lose their existing opportunities to some extent, which decreases the leader’s effectiveness. Thus, the well-being is not the best tool for measuring the effectiveness of the leader.

Of course, improving the well-being of the country’s citizen is one of the main role of a country’s leader. The public might have elected the leader in the hope that he or she would improve their well-being much. If the leader rarely considered the well-being of the public, he or she would be regarded as denying the promises that the leader might vow to do before election. Then, people will want to change their leader let alone regarding him or her as not being an effective leader. Nonetheless, it is not the best tools for measuring the effectiveness of the leader.

First, the term “well-being” is too subjective depending the people’s thought. For instance, while some might think that well-being infers higher education attainment, water sanitation, security and so forth, but the other would consider it as intangible one such as happiness, social relationship and a sense of security. If the leader more focused on making the policy relevant to universal education than making the social programs that people can meet each other, those who think education is the very well-being would think that the leader is effective. On the contrary, for people who regard the social program is an indicator of well-being, the leader would not be effective. Likewise, since the definition of the well-being is different depending on the people, the effectiveness of the leader cannot be measured appropriately by investigating the well-being of the citizens.

Furthermore, suppose that whole society agrees the well-being infers universal education system: All citizens can benefit from at least elementary education without cost, and as a result the leader introduced free elementary education while abolishing higher education scholarship program. Anyway, we can measure the welfare by calculating the number of people who finish the free elementary schools. Unfortunately, those who wanted to receive higher education would lose their opportunities to learn more due to free elementary education policy. While all people could finish elementary education without individual costs, but some people would have gave up their dream. In that case, can we say that the leader was effective policy-maker? No one knows. Other than the case of universal education system, other things such as security and social programs would generate both the people who receive the benefits and the others who loses their existing chances. Even though measuring the well-being became available, nobody cannot firmly say that the leader is effective since somebody’s welfare increase could be the losses of the others.

To sum up, since the well-being have too subjective definitions depending on the people’s experiences, it is very hard to measure the well-being and it would lead to deterioration of some people’s welfare. Thus, I disagree with the author’s argument that examining the well-being is the best to evaluate the effectiveness of the leader.