The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Indeed for any society to flourish cooperation among its members for the bedrock, the solid foundation on which society should be built. However, to argue that young people can be prepared for leadership across government, industry or any other field by instilling in them a sense of cooperation is little far fetched. I will be presenting couple of arguments reflecting why cooperation is not the best idea to develop leadership in young people.

The very basis of why some of early industrialized countries are now developed countries because they took leadership in industrial revolution and through competition only the technology improved to a vast extent so that production of goods became resource optimal. Had there been no cut throat competition among industrialists of 18th century we would have been this developed. Consider for a fact that Ford revolutionized the car manufacturing, Manchester became hub of cloth production and so on. This all happened because leaders were competing against each other to achieve the best. Hence, we must instill feeling of competition among young ones to make them aware to stay on their toes and strive for the best.

Also, from my experience, I can very well say cooperation is a mechanism used by people of developing and underdeveloped countries. This they do reduce collective costs as well as enhance their gains. As well as many social problems can be solved by means of collective action and cooperation only. In those scenario's the extent of leadership is limited, rather leadership is spread across the community and people. As the community develops and progresses, there is less and less need for cooperation among the members of that community or in larger context the country. Hence it can be argued that although cooperation is a handy quality yet it will certainly not make the world a better place if practiced by all the leaders.

I would like to argue that competitive leaders are most cooperative ones, because when a leader is competitive or aggressive, whole institution walks the path of obtaining best outcomes. This is other leaders also get into action to strive for better than what is present now, fueling further innovations and development. Hence, society must try to instill being competitive in young people more than being cooperative.