A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The movie producer in his memo has made certain requests which rely heavily on unsubstantiated claims being made. No doubt, a number of assumptions have been made to further his/her point of increasing the funding by 10% in order to deliver a quality product. The most basic assumption in itself is that an increase in funding is necessary to ensure a quality movie. There are many aspects to a movie which contribute to its quality like acting, storyline, etc but an assumption on the causal relationship of funding and quality is being made. It can very well be the case that inspite of increasing the funding by 10% the movie still ends up being a subpar quality product.

The producer further makes an assumption regarding the working style of the diretor on board. Since the director comes from the advertising business, it is assumed that his work style is wasteful. The statement that the advertising business is wasteful is a liberal assumption itself. But to further assume that the working style of the movie's director will also be wasteful is also far fetched. The director, while directing the movie, might change his work style to suit the demands of the movie industry. In case this assumption of the producer is proven false then the request for 10% additional funding would be entirely unnecessary. The movie might be finished with the available funding itself.

The producer also assumes that the inexperienced assistant directors and producers which have been hired to work on the project would be necessary inefficient and will resultantly cost the project more money. Firstly there is an assumption that the relative inexperience will translate to longer time required to arrange sets. Even if this assumption is proven correct there is the further assumption that the actors and unionized crew will have to wait for such arrangments to be made and therefore will have to be paid overtime. This whole argument is based on various assumptions, even one of which proven to be false will make the whole argument void. If the relative inexperience does give rise to delayed arrangements on set it is not necessary that the actors and crew have to work overtime, the arrangments can be so scheduled beforehand so that nobody has to work overtime and zero waiting time is accrued. Also, it is assumed that even if overtime has to be paid it much more than the money saved on hiring the relatively inexperience staff on board. If this assumption is proven false then again the demand for increase in funds will not have its thrust.

All in all, the move producer's demand for 10% increase is based on a number of assumptions regarding the possible problems which might be encountered once the filming begins. Most of the problems ennumerated arise out of the expected ineffciency and wasteful methods of the director or assistant director and producers. This assumptions can either prove right or wrong. But in case they prove wrong then the increase in funding is absolutely frivolous. In any case the increase in funding does not necessarily assure a quality product.