A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo sent by the producer to the movie studio contains numerous assumptions, the major underlying assumption is the prediction of more money translating into success. While it is true that a 10% increase in budget will certainly help to improve the functioning of staff, the argument lacks to provide information about various aspects of staff's ability to work in a commercial environment.

The producer mentions the director has a background in advert industry, producer further goes on to assume and question his credentials by providing information on the prodigal use of money in advert industry. While it may stand correct that advertisement industry spends wastefully on one scene - the primary reason behind which may very well be the fact that shampoo commercials as mentioned only be shot for a few seconds and needs to convey an idea efficiently in less time. Since the precedent can't be used to justify wastefulness in a commercial production, such an assumption stands no ground when compared against the fact that the director would not have to persuade the audience to buy a product rather only has to rely on much more talented actors to convey the emotions and idea of plot in a runtime multifold to the one available for a shampoo commercial.

Another assumption the producer makes is regarding the relatively inexperienced assistants to director and producers, while the new recruits may not be experienced, the assumption that they will become a hindrance in the film's production and cause delays recurrently seems a prophetic prediction that is short-sighted. In addition, if the problem is observed to become recurrent, the budget can be balanced by reducing the wages of such individuals after holding them accountable for their actions and imposing penalties.

Penultimately, the primary assumption and purpose behind the argument seems to be based and reflects on producer's lack of confidence in his recruitment skills. While some inexperienced individuals are slow to learn a person who is dedicated and inspired can contribute to a project just as well as a veteran. The primary assumption of money equalling success is also flawed as money that a project imbibes has never truly been an accurate indicator of success, multiple movies have put millions in the budget but failed to convert the investment into profit, so investing money on such trivial aspects seems to be wasteful in itself.