The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

The basic human nature of empathy hinders the ability of one's mind to be completely objective. However, when faced with tasks such as fair evaluation of something as abstract as talent, all the reservations especially those of a devout follower, must be put aside. However, this is easier said than done. Upon the immediate demise of a musician, out-pour of emotions undermines the objectives of an unbiased evaluation of one's talent. Furthermore, when economical aspects of one's talent are weighed in, almost in every case of sales after a popular musician's death, the posthumous release of albums containing songs that were shelved and the artists themselves deemed not fit for the ears of their fans have been observed to do much better compared to those released during their lives.

A popular example can be considered as the release and response of Late Micheal Jackson's posthumous album. The album consisted of many of Micheal Jackson's unreleased songs that were just "too bland" for Micheal himself. Furthermore, considering how Mozart was reprimanded by his contemporaries for using the set of symphonies that are now considered revolutionary for the time. The curious case of Mozart's ephemeral fame during his lifetime and later rise to being the epitome generations later is a testament to the notion of true talent being objectively assessed after few generations. In his case, however, it was the defamation by his contemporaries that took generations to fade away and hence, the world came to know the real genius that was Mozart. What is clear from above examples is that fame, popular opinion and subjective perception of contemporaries can drastically change the way one's talent is judged. This generalized notion is as true for the music industry as is with any other popular media platform.

Fame subsides once these factors are dismissed and a consensus is fabricated to investigate into the true magnitude of one's talent. Musician often suffers from this dilemma of losing own identity because of ratings, record labels and many more factors. This leads to the misdirection of an investigation into one's talent. So in conclusion, to objectively assess one's talent, the investigation should be free of aforementioned factors, which is only possible once their fame defined to be the popular opinion, has subsided and gives way for unbiased evaluation