"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is commonly thought of as a trait of inspiring the subordinates or dependent individuals to partake and complete an activity as per requirements. While the statement is true it fails to encapsulate the complete concept of leadership.

While the government should try to instill a sense of cooperation within individuals aspiring to become leaders of future, a small amount of competition is also necessary for the all-round growth of an individual; and hence society. By ignoring competitive spirit among the individuals, the society may lose a sense of progress and the extent to which one should try to achieve it, both for his ot her own benefit and for the benefit of society. That being said cooperation is always the trait of primacy for a good leader and reflects a person's ability to first contribute and then inspire the team or society which they are supposed to lead.

The federal system of a team or government or society runs on the principle of trust- belief in the system's leaders ensures efficient and effective growth, which not only brings about prosperity within a society but also improves the quality of life. A leader, who is entrenched in a sense of competition, can never be truly trusted by the individual who reports to him or her.

While one might argue that cooperation may lead to a lost grasp of competition and ultimate demise of an economy, there are numerous examples of the contrary to be true. Excessive obsession with competition may very well lead to the hindrance in progress. It all lies in the approach with which the leadership approaches and identifies itself. A balanced outlook between competition and cooperation yields more productive results.

A peculiar example of such different approaches to leadership is the era of cold-war, while the leaders of US and USSR competed both along the lines of scientific and military progress, there was a marked difference in the leadership of both sides. While the leaders of US were regulated, maintained multiple public support groups and balanced military spending with educational reimbursements, the leaders of USSR struggled to maintain a state of cooperation from em masses because of excessive military spending and ultimately this led to the fall of USSR. This example is particularly potent in exemplifying the way in which a society responds to leadership and also the way in which leadership can significantly be improved with cooperation while maintaining a sense of competition.

The Industry/Government etc should primarily instill a sense of cooperation in individuals and along with that should also help develop a knack for competition as it is a necessary ingredient in the growth of a society.