"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year , fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.And yet the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies have increased in this year.Clearly,the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough to our prospective viewers.Thus the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with the lack of awareness that good movies are available.Super Screen Movies should thus allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching public through advertising."

The director is trying to put forth an argument and hence a proposal that since the quality of movies made by Super Screen Movie Prod. The company is above-par as evident from the increased percentage of positive reviews in the year preceding to budget allocation, the company should, therefore, allocate more funds for advertisement.

The argument makes multiple assumptions about the quality of movies made by the company and also about the expected response from the viewers. Firstly, the director informs the readers about the increased percentage of positive reviews even though the viewership decreased. The director attributes this increase to the uniform good-quality movies the company has made over the last few years. This assumption is flawed as the percentage of positive reviews may have increased due to the fact that only avid followers of the studio or the actors involved in the film showed up to the screening and exalted the movie and its cast. While a small number of avid fans could have easily added to the discrepancy, another factor to account for the discrepancy may be the poor quality of preceding movies that led to the decrement in the number of viewers that would have otherwise shown up and given negative reviews to the new movie. Therefore a survey regarding the performance issues with the earlier movies should be made and compared with the critical response of new movie to ascertain the quality of production.

The next argument the advertising director makes is about the paucity of publicity, but the information is insufficient as such determine up to what extent was the publicity for the current film was carried out. To quantify whether advertisement spending is enough or not, budgeted spending on the publicity of earlier movies and subsequent box-office reviews should be compared with the corresponding spending and reviews of the current movie. The data hence obtained should then be used to support the assumption and hence the argument.

Also, another subtle assumption behind the argument is the advertisement director's notion that what transpired in earlier movies i.e., the increment in viewership will take place again irrespective of the quality of the future movie itself. This exhibits the ignorance of multiple variables involved in a movie's commercial and critical success. Publicity is one of these factors but it alone can't ensure the success of a movie.

The argument hence can be improved by enumerating and making such variables constant, such as producing a sequel to the previous installment of a franchise and casting the same team of actors and directors. While it still will have numerous variables such as release date, movie budget etc that should be controlled, the argument and proposal will be more strong once such variables are plugged and compared against a previous movie.