Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Doing what one love to do is better than choosing what one should do. While defending the claim made in the given task, certain reservations are pristine and obvious. The claim pits collective good achieved through the logical decision-making against the individualistic and emotional approach. The contrast in the claim is put forth by evaluating a conventional advice and suggesting a modification.

The key word in discussing the claim is "dream", whilst the meaning may vary for every individual-the ultimate objective behind using the word key is to denote the ambitious potential one exhibits while furthering a career in the field of choice. This particular trait of the conventional advice is beneficial for the psychological state of a person, as they are inherently happy to invest their time and resources in a field of choice rather than settling for goals established by someone else.

While being happy translate into an earlier and much more profound positive impact on society, the consequences of failing to do are the primary concern behind the claim. The claim exhibits reservation about judging ones potential to succeed. The claim is also based on the notion that the dreams of an individual are mostly selfish - that is derived from the individual's own necessities rather than augmenting the society. This reasoning is contrary to the fact that most of the individuals who indeed pursue a career in a field of choice have helped form the fabric of society more profoundly than those who chose to pick more logical career choices.

Most of the individuals who indeed end up furthering their career in the field of choice acquire more in-depth and critical knowledge as compared to those who do not. They are more inclined to further the field and add to the extant knowledge by making more invested contributions.