The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The faculty committee at Seatown University is putting forth the argument to retain and attract new professors by offering similar incentives as received by the professors at Oceania University. The argument is based on the assumption that the incentives that helped Oceania University will also help Seatown University to achieve the same response and result from the professors. While the incentive on the surface seems to be appealing to professors, the argument is superficial as it overlooks numerous other variables.

The argument explicitly mentions the effects of given incentives at Oceania University, it fails to provide information about the number of professors who have college-aged children at Seatown University. Furthermore, even if the number of professors with college-aged children is the same at Seatown University as Oceania University, the argument fails to provide information about the difference in tuition fee at both the universities.

Also, the claim made in the argument about enhancing morale among faculty is based on the loyalty that the faculty committee seeks to have after the incentives are in place. The claim is flawed because it seeks to achieve a moral high ground among the faculty by assuming that they are vulnerable to such monetary distractions. The reasoning behind the claim is contradictory to the objective of the claim itself.

Furthermore, The argument does not provide any information about new faculty enrollment and their requirements. If the statistics support the claim that indeed the new faculty is attracted to such incentives compared to being lured in by research opportunities or university ranking, the argument's claim would be more strengthened.

While it is true that incentives are a factor in retaining established professors and recruiting new ones, more conclusive evidence is needed to validate the claims made in the arguments.