Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

If the population of the tufted groundhog living in the coastal wetlands was declining before the West Lansburg wetlands were declared as a wildlife sanctuary and have been steady ever since the declaration in 2004, there is a good probability that the extant population will be severely affected by the human intrusion in their surroundings. However, above drawn conclusion scratches the surface of the argument. Upon further insight into the argument, the correlation is drawn between West Lansburg being subjected to the human activity via access road constructed across the wetlands and repeal of sanctuary status of Eastern Carpenteria is weak.

Repeal of sanctuary status would allow hunters to shoot and kill animals without any intervention from government, this can't be compared with the construction of an access road. This assumption is based on the awareness of people living in the area about the critical condition of a particular species based in the wetlands. Furthermore, the construction of a road will not hamper the biodiversity if checkpoints are built for vetting of vehicles for illegal hunting. If the population data hints at a mild decline in tufted groundhog populace with human interaction in other regions, biodiversity would still be largely affected. The critical and delicate balance of nature can be affected by just a slight decline in the population of one species.

The evidence from a wildlife sanctuary where land animals like tufted groundhogs became endangered after the construction of a similar project would strengthen the argument the most. As parallels can be easily drawn with the impact of a road construction project on the danger to biodiversity. Further, if tufted groundhogs population data suggests the species being prone to roadkill by cars the argument will be further strengthened.