A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

The producer argues that extra funding of 10 percent in the move "Working Title" could provide more ease to the director and starcast and should be able to benefit the team. Stated in this way the producer failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluted. To justify the argument the producer reasons that since the director is a tyro to movie industry and has done only advertisement previously, then the enhanced money could provide ease to the director for taking multiple takes of a scene and frees the director to shoot the movie without any concern. Howevery, careful scrutiny of the argument provides little creditable support to producer's argument. Hence, the producers argument is incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the producer haven't mentioned anything about the overall budget of the movie. Additionally, without knowing the overall budget we could not predict whether 10 percent enhancement in current budget would be a less amount or not. If the current budget is already low then increasing 10 percent would not make much effect on the final budget of the movie. But if the current budget is already high, then 10 percent increase would be an adequate move. Hence, the producer needs to provide the initial budget in order to make the argument more cogent.

Seondly, it is necessary to know about the working experience of director and actors as well. Since it is known that the director is a tyro to the company, the actors should be experienced or talented in order to successfully shoot the movie and make it successful. Moreover, since the director's contribution is crucial to any movie, his previous work should be given by the producer in order to better assess his capability and could estimate whether the budget should be increased for the movie or not.

Finally, the producer should analyze some of the movies with low budgets in order to make the argumdigent more convincing. Since, low budget movies with good stories sometimes wow the audience and become a blockbuster. But most of the movies with lack of direction, can flop the movie and make the efforts of directors and actors futile. Thus, if the producer would have considered some previous superhit movies with low budgets, the argument could have been more convincing to analyze.

In conclusion, the producers argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the produer should provide nsecessary information, perhaps by the way of reliable survey about the directors and other starcast's previous working experience. To bolster it further, it would be necessary to know why the producer had chosen the director for shooting the movie after knowing his advertising experience.