The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers claims that by modifying the showerheads, they can restrict the waterflow and increase profits from them. Stated in this way, the argument failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the owner reasons that restriction of water flow could reduce the water usage and saves money which they're paying to the corporation. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little creditable support to owner's argument. Hence the argument can be considered as incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, just by changing the showerheads of 3 buildings, the owner assums that the water can be saved at a large extent without even carefuly examining the usage of water before and after chaning of showeheads. May be the water usage increases after changing the showerheads. We don't really know. Even though the water is saved by modifying the showerhead, it's maintainance cost should be considered. For instance, if the maintainance cost is higher and it provides a little profit after saving water from all buildings, then it provides only a little creditable support of owners claim and thus seems unpersuasive. Hence, a detailed analysis of water usage and maintainance cost of changing showerheads should be done by the owner before taking the decision of changing the showerheads.

Furthermore, there are various other factors which could increase the funding of the owner like increasing the maintainance cost by providing various facilities like Gym, swimming pool, clubhouse, garden etc. Since these are the adequate factors which would definitely increase the profits for owner. Apart from that, it could be possible that the water is available freely in the society due to availability of nearby river. Hence, saving the water and making the profit would be unpersuasive in that case. Hence, some more information should be given by the owner about the profits which could be make by saving water and compare them with profits after creation of above facilities.

At last, the owner should devote some more time for analysis of water usage before and after changing of showerheads of the buildings. Since one month is not enough time to evaluate the faults in changing of showerheads. May be possible that after some years there would be some water leakage in most apartments due to changing of showerheads and will cause some more amount of money to repair them. Thus, considering these things should help the author to better think about whether the modification of showerheads would really benefited or not-

In conclusion, the owner's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the owner must provide better concrete evidences, perhaps by a way of reliable survey about the profits from saving water. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know about other factors which would be considered as cheep and further make much profits than changing of showerheads.