"Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected.However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations,we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that inoculations should be avoided in a particular area where the cow flu has been detected. Stated in this way, the author failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To justify it further, the author reasons that due to these inoculations, there is further a small possibility that a person will die. However, careful scrutiny of the argument provides little creditable support to the author's argument. Hence the author's argument in incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author mentioned that many lives can be saved due to inoculations against cow flu. Since cow flu could spread throughout the region or a big area which cause the death of may people. Hence, inoculations should be routinely administered in order to avoid those deaths. Possibly, some people may have risk to die from those inoculations, but if the flu largely spread in that area then ultimately it will cause death to many people which anyone can't even think of. Thus, in order to save life of many people from cow flu, this step should be taken in order to save most of the lives.

Furthermore, the author failed to mention the details about the people who had cow flu in that area. If the number of people were high then inoculations should be administered at its best, but if the number of people were low, say one or two, then risking the life of other people due to inoculations should be avoided. Hence, if the author had provided such information, then the argument could have been analyzed effectively.

Finally, the author failed to mention the exact time when the survey has been done. Possibly, the survey has done a long time ago or may it could be be done recently. If the survey has been done a long time ago, then possibly that the scientists have found the cure of inoculation so that no one could die while administration. Additionally, there may be some other cure which scientists have found later to cure the cow flu. We don't really know. Therefore, we need to know the validity of survey from the author in order to make the argument more cogent.

In conclusion, the author's argument in unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide necessary details, perhaps by the way of reliable analysis about the validity of the survey. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know about why the author have mentioned only inoculation as the cure of cow flu without any further analysis of other possible cure.