"Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected.However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations,we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that since there is a modicum of possibility of a person dying from the effect of inoculation, the authority can not permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered. While a cursory view of this statement may acknowledge this as flawless, a close inspection reveals several flaws of the argument. To possess an indubitable conclusion, an argument should have several reasons, which this one fails to achieve.

Firstly, the administration has no data from which they can estimate the severity of the cow flu, thereby cannot reach a firm decision. For example, if almost 40 percent of villagers are afflicted with dengue fever, then the administration can do anything but be indifferent about the issue. They must take some serious measure to assuage the epidemic of the fever. Likewise, if there would exist any data about the previous deaths caused by the flu, then the administration could be

judicious about their steps. Such phlegmatic behavior from the administration without any corroboration is not welcomed after all. Above all, the argument would be strengthened, if the number of demise resulting from the flu was enumerated.

Secondly, the argument fails in the case of cost analysis of this inoculation project. If the cumulative cost of the whole project would be negligible comparing with the effects of the flu, it would be a facile task to implement. To illustrate, the vaccination of polio to per individual costs less than the after-treatment of a polio patient. In this case, if the flu is contagious, it would cause havoc in the village, thereby decimating the whole village. As a result, the cost of the treatment will be much higher than to promote a routined administration. So, the argument would be bolstered, if the cost analyses were included in their statement.

Thirdly, if not, the inoculation is routinedly controlled, may be one person will be inoculated more than once, which may cause side effects. However, the death of a person from inoculations can not be refuted completely, inoculation more than once can be precarious instead. Therefore, the administration should be aware of the inoculation to prevent aberrant death causes.

To encapsulate the whole, the argument falls short of many reasons for which the conclusion is vague, making it prone to debates.