Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every person yearns for a relationship which he can trust or that will be beneficial to him. In this search, he has been constantly searching for definite traits in other people for which he can build a sound relationship with him. While some people stipulate truthfulness as the most important characteristics, I think it is not always necessary to be veritable with your partner in case of building a good relationship with someone because it may lead to heartbreak and sometimes cause in jeopardy in relation also.

Every religion has glorified truthfulness as one of the greatest virtue a human can practice. So, it is undeniable that, being honest with someone will obviously build a healthy relationship with anybody. Nevertheless, in this sophisticated modern world, human relationship has also become complicated as well. That is why, always telling the truth will not be helpful while maintaining a relationship, as it can sometimes hurt the person on the listening side. For example, let us consider, a healthy well maintained person has got a friend who is obese. May be the cause of his obesity is genetic, may be he can suffer from some hormonal disruption. But if the healthy friend continuously keep telling him obese, fat, thick, whatsoever, it will sure strike the emotional balance of that obese person. Despite being honest, being straightforward does not help here anyway. On the other hand, if he would tell that, he looks good but he should contemplate on losing some weight, that would eventually, encourage him somehow, which is the role of a generous friend.

Besides, now-a-days our jobs have also become so convoluted that we can not share those thing on the assumption that we will be truthful whatever happens. Even the Russian security service, known as KGB, has an ingrained rule whereby their employees can not share anything with their spouses also, along with prohibiting anyone from touching their personal purse or money-bag. Doing otherwise can cause the employee lose his job, if anything, being sentenced for leaking information. Thus, we should not always follow the maxims about truthfulness.

Furthermore, and most importantly, telling the obvious thing every time may jeopardize the relation between people. For example, in an office, sometimes employees make jokes about their boss, but if the boss, in case, asks someone about his popularity among his colleagues, disclosing those petty merrymaking will surely cause everyone listen the boss speaking daggers. In this case, being candid will thereby worsen the existing situation.

Therefore, it can be concluded that, we should not blindly state the actual fact although it is a positive trait. Rather, we should be aware of the situation about the time and place of being veracious. Thus, I do not think, truthfulness is the most important characteristics one should look for in everybody.