The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues here that builing of a new hobby shop in Grilldon would definitely be profitable since many people will take interest in buying from these shops. Stated in this way, the author failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To better evalute the argument, the author reasons that since currently there are not a single hobby shop in Grilldon city and therefore building of hobby shops would surely attract the customers there. However, careful scrutiny of the argument claims that it provides little creditable support to authors argument. Hence the argument can be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author didn't mention anything about the interest of people of Grilldon city in hobby products. Possibly, there are other local shops which suits people to buy same products as available at hobby shops and these shops are convenient and more auspecious to people there. Furthermore, the author claimed that since 88 percent of the people would like a hobby shop to be build in Southeastern Grilldon. However, it's not sure that the people who have given their review are from Grilldon or anywhere else. If they are from some other areas, then the review would be inadequate to consider. Additionally, we can't really say that 88 percent is a bigger number. If the total number of people who have reviewed are less, then 88 percent would be a less number to consider. Therefore, if the author had mentioned some evidence which shows serious interest of Grilldon people in hobby shop and has given the actual number of people from Grilldon who has submitted the review, then the argument could be more cogent.

Furthermore, the author claims that since most of the people living in the city of Grilldon are retired people and hence they would have much time to go to hobby shops for purchasing and would like to buy products from there. Furthermore, the author failed to mention whether these people are actually interested in buying from hobby shops or there are other convenient ways like online shopping etc. for buying the products. It would be really fundamental to know about their source of shopping of the products in the absence of the hobby shops. If the author had mentioned those sources then the argument look more convenient to analyze.

Finally, the author mentioned that there is a huge increase in hobby bussiness of 300 percent in past decades. Hence, since the business has enhanced so there should be defnintely some other ways to buy those products. If those ways are convenient and provides ease to people then why would people want to go and waste time in purchasing products from hobby shop. Additionally, the amount of hobby products should also be considered. If the hobby shops provides more amount on each product then from other local shops, then people would impersuasive for people to buy products from hobby shop. There, the above information should be given by the author in order to analyze the argument in an adequate manner.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better concrete evidences, perhaps by the way of reliable survey about the number of people in Grilldon who are interested in hobby products from hobby stores. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know about the other sources of hobby products that whether there are local shops for that or people would buy these products online.