The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It seems to be logical, at first glance, to agree with the idea that creating Hobby Shop in the southeastern Grilldon will be a profitable idea. However, the argument relies on less credible evidence or even doubtful assumption to consolidates its stance. In what follows, I will elaborate them in details.

Citing the number of people who agree with the building hobby shop, the author everts that creating Hobby shop would be the beneficent idea in the southeastern Gildon. Without knowing the demographical characteristics of the responders making this conclusion is disingenuous. Maybe the most...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.