The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It seems to be logical, at first glance, to agree with the idea that as long as customers refute to buy CCC’s copper products, the company forced to stop its environmental disasters activities. However, the argument relies on less credible evidence or even doubtful assumptions to consolidate its stance. In what follows, I will elaborate on them in details.

The 1st problem with the argument is polluting especial parts of the West Fredonia tropical lands does not mean that all of the West Fredonia lands have been affected. That is, maybe West Fredonia land is an enormous area, and purchasin...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.