The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues."Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land wi

According to this letter, the editor tells us the Crust Copper Company purchased a large land in the tropical nation West Fredonia in order to mine the copper underground. Given there are both possiblities of pollution and enviromental disaster, the editor advises not to buy the prodcuts made with CCC's copper thus they will abandon mining plans. The author's suggestion is kind-hearted while not supported by his evidence sufficiently. So let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, there is no obvious evidence to prove the enviromental will be undermined by the 10,000 square miles lands' developing. The author does not tell us how many lands to be used as the mining place May be there is just small place to mine copper, thus without the scale of the copper mine, we can not make further conclusion about the potential hazard.

Secondly, the location is not mentioned in this letter. We know that it would be precarious for the envrioment especially for the endagered species that the copper mine is located in their habitats. Without location, maybe CCC purchase the land where is totally wild and free of danger to the envrioment and endangered species.To support his conclusion, the editor should make a specific survey of the CCC's plan and the West Fredonia's geomitric pattern. What's more, compared with the nation's scale, we have no conception of this land in the partion of the country. Maybe the 10,000 land occupies a trivial scale where the plalce was abadoned for decades. I belive there is lots of work to do for the editor to research this country besides the CCC.

Finally, the recommendation is not promised to have this predication that the CCC will abadon its mining plans. The author suggests that if the consumers refuse to buy the product of copper made by CCC, they will stop this plan. While there is no relavance between this boycott and the abadon. Firstly, without the imformation of CCC we do not what scale it is ,maybe it is just a small business of Wets Fredonia's copper mine in the company, there are other mines which the CCC holds except for West Fredonia. Moreover, there is a high possiblity that the copper prodcuts are not easily to be boycotted due to the scale of the company as the company may be the major one. On the othe hand, from the point of CCC, there may be a comprehensive plan that they have already take the presvervation of envrioment and ecndangered species into consideration due to the potential pollution and envriomental disaster.

In conclusion ,the editor's suggestion is not well supported by the evidence he shows to us. To make futhur support, he should find out the location and condition of the country to prove the potential hazard as well as the CCC's specific plan about this copper mine.