The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It seems to be logical, at first glance, to agree with the idea that modifying showerheads in all of the apartments leads to raising the company profits. However, the argument relies on a couple of less credible evidence or even doubtful assumptions to consolidate its stance. In what follows, I will elaborate on them in detail.

The 1st problem with the argument is that it could not provide enough information about the actual reading of water usage before and after water restriction. Perhaps, because of water low pressure, the use of water will be increased. That is, when people who are living inside the apartment notice that their showerheads has not enough pressure, they want to take a repeated shower during the days to clean themselves effectively. Hence, the usage of water has been increasing. Also, without having additional information about people water usage it is difficult to claim that the corporation will be able to save more money by water restriction in showerheads. To explain more, people may use more water in another part of the subjects such as clothes washing, dishes washing, or even washing their cars.

Even assuming that the argument provides enough information about people water usage before and after shower modifications, other puzzles require to be answered. The argument leaves other unanswered questions about the number of people have been bothered by the shower adjustment. It may be true that the number of people who are annoyed by the shower water restriction is infinitesimal, this does not mean that other people who live in the apartment are a pleasure with this idea. To clarify this point, the argument averts that water restriction could be pragmatic to all of the floor in the apartments, yet it only provides compliant from first five-floor apartments. If the number of the floor which assigned to use water restriction increase, the number of compliant will raise as well.

Citing the modification on showerheads to restrict water usage, the author averts that this idea results in huge profits for the corporation. Although by water restriction the corporation could save its water cost every month, this profitability could not remain for a long time. Maybe the building people want to buy a water pump to amplify their water pressure for a top floor, so the power usage among these people have been increased. Consequently, the corporation will have to pay more power cost every month.

To fully evaluate the argument had better provide additional enough information about its stance. The first pieces of information we need to know is the water usage among people before and after water limitation idea. To better assessment, we also require to know more about complaint peoples who live on another floor of the apartment. Finally, it is greatly recommended to notice another unpredictable aspect of water confinement.

In summary, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that showerheads water modifying leads to bring more profits for the corporation.