Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

In this modern era, team working plays pivotal roles in education and career. Much breath and ink are extended in arguing about assessing group members' duties. While some people think it had better give the same mark for a group member to receive all group members' pleasure, others believe that it is not fair to allocate similar grades for all group members in group work projects. When it comes to me, I firmly concur with the latter assertion. There are many reasons to support this idea, but two are elaborated in the following article.

First and foremost, giving the same mark to every group member undermine group members' sense of responsibility. To explain more, it is more likely that some group member does their assignment effectively compared with others. Therefore, by giving the same score for everyone, the people who try more on their tasks and spend more time and energy to do their work, maybe experience deeply disappointed. Consequently, they start to do their assignments slowly and ineffectively. Similarly, when a lazy member of the group saw this result, they try to be more disorganized since they detect doing tasks correctly and ineffectively leads to the same effect. Hence, by giving the same grade to every group member, groups’ member may be anarchists and disordered. Had assiduous students receive more positive feedback from their teachers, they would have been more responsible in their work.

Another reason which is worthwhile to mention is that giving the same grade for all the group members in team working projects is not a useful idea for students and university futures as a whole. In other words, by this strategy, students recognize that there is not any law or discrimination between people who do their work weakly and others who do their job effectively. Therefore, they may follow other rules to be prosperous in their lives. For example, students may try to cheat on others to thrive in their careers or education. Similarly, if the university wants to acquire more government financial budget, it had better have a merit-based evaluation system. The more have a brilliant student, the more chance the university receives financial support from the governments.

In summary of what has been illustrated above, based on the foregoing reasons, it is a logical idea to have an evaluation system among the group members. Not only is it beneficial to students and university future status, but it helps students to enhance their sense of responsibilities as well.