Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

First of all, knowing about the past is a cost-effectiveness method to make effective decision-making today. That is, every decision making requires to spend time and allocate enough budget to conciliate invaluable information in the past and current. To explain more, when world health organization(WHO) want to estimate dangers of special disease in the unique are for the current and future status, they have to know the past status of that disease in that area. If the particular illness was limited to special seasons, population and particular area in the country this means that these patterns will be enduring for the next years. Therefore, by knowing the past status of unique diseases health official could make a best decision to hinder epidemic of that diseases by taking cheaper and quick preventive works such as immunization of susceptible peoples or improving environmental health. On the other hand, ignoring the past status of diseases leads to suffering more mortality and morbidity and all of these events impose innumerable costs on society.

Further, the existing distance could not prevent to link past and current events. To explain more, there are some archaic and valuable documented and undocumented information sources from the past which will be helpful in decision making today. Every society has own elite in terms of various fields such as art, science, philosophy, medicine, astronomy, which written their knowledge for future generations and research. For instance, Avicenna who was the prominent physician in the Persian empire collected his knowledge in various books such as “GANNON”. In this book, he explains the cause of the diseases according to the area and population. Until now, this book has been using in the famous university as textbooks in the medicine filed. Also, other physic scientists whose name is Albert Einstein created a famous” Rational Theory” that continues till now, and his theory was written and collected by his pupils to use for the next scholars.

Although using the past information could be a valuable source in decision making today, it also has own limitations. To clarify this point, some of the scientific theory which posited in the past has been refuted by most of today's’ connoisseurs. For instance, some expert said that all of the cancer is fateful and there is not an effective treatment for them, whereas today some type of cancers such as Brest and colon have been treating. Therefore, using that information will be fallacious for currents life.

In summary, while some people think that knowing about the past event could not be helpful in decision making, I disagree with this idea due to knowing past information is an economic and quick method for decision making today