Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The author claims that knowledge over the past is not beneficial for current curtail decisions. The writer further reasons that the relation of past events with now happening is more lucid while there is some gap from both times. I fundamentally do not concur with this disposition. In what follows, I will list my cogent arguments to cast doubt on the accuracy of its accuracy.

The first striking fact that should be considered is the crux role of past financial reports from the past on the decision-making process of the economists for the future. Indeed, in the field of economic, no one invests the money on the project without informing about its previous financial income. Thus, the possibility of the profits or losses is anticipated based on the numerical graphs and tables from at least one decade ago. Although there will not be the repetition of the identical situation in the future, this reliance over the past reports makes a more guaranteed and safe investment.

Another crucial field which undeniably relies on the past is science. Actually, in the field of science, most of the exploration and invention take place base on the previous either achievement or failures. If the previous activity at the science ends to success, the current scholar will go one step further than the previous one and flourished the succeed topic. On the other hand, if the today's research is shaped by the consideration of past mistakes and shortages, the current invention or explorer will not redo the same faults and the chance of having a successful innovative outcome is increased. A lucid example which clarifies my stand is the arrangement of Periodic Table. This arrangement took approximately a century to gain the current and acceptable order. During this long period, lots of chemists worked on this table who possessed different attitudes; however, all of them assented on the main scheme of the table. This agreement and consideration of the previous efforts lead to enhancement of the table at this period; and illustrates at the field of science how the achievement and activities of previous scientists are important for current ones.

Finally, the reason for the author in which the existence of distance from both periods for having a better understanding of both situations is a shaky clue. From my perspective, at this adhesive reason, the writer overlooks the cognitive, investigative, and inductive ability of human-being. While we look for the past to gain a lesson, we do not seek the identical situation. However, the purpose is finding the analogous condition, and get some idea to implemented in the current situation. This is far away from finding an identical situation in the past and execution of whole details dimensions at today’s problem. For instance, the probability of occurrence of World War I and II in so rare in modern life. Nevertheless, the famine and scanty of workforce and productivity at that period should be bolded in nowadays’ life to prevent any kind of combats and conflict which halt the enhancement of the society.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments illustrates my status toward the issue, in which I do not agree with the claim of helplessness of the past events in the current decision making since there is no cogent understanding of their past and now’s link.