The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building in the letter to his manager, states that the restriction of the water flow by the modification of showerheads on the first five floors in their towers will significantly increase their profit. While it is tempting to believe that the conclusion drawn in the argument is plausible, it would be fallacious to do so. The author has made a few assumptions that left holes in the reasoning of the argument.

Firstly, the author of this argument states that all the showerheads were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow and that, even if the actual readings of water usage are not still available, he assures that the monthly water expenses will be considerably diminished. It can be easily seen that the author does not have any proof for his statement, which makes this statement an unwarranted assumption. The owner cannot conclude anything before he has available actual reading of water usage. Therefore, already from the beginning of these changes, it might be that the modification was more expensive than the actual water bills. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water. In addition, he does not show any reason why they have modified the showerheads. Maybe the residents of the towers did not ask for any water restriction and money saving. He has not led any survey among the residents. By its name, it is tempting to believe that Sunnyside Towers apartment is a luxury building. If this is true, then the renting prices are very high. Thus, if the residents of the towers can afford the prices of rent, it is hard to believe that they cannot afford to pay for the basic expenses such as the water usage.

Secondly, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building informs his manager that there are no problems with showers reported, except the low water pressure. This leaves considerable holes in the reasoning of his statement. Low water pressure is always irritating and realistically, a big problem. Thus, it might be that the majority of the residents will complain about it which could result in great problems for the owner of the towers. It is possible also, in the case if the current problem with the water flow cannot be resolved, that the residents cancel their renting contracts with the Sunnyside Towers. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument cannot be considerate plausible.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on a few unwarranted assumptions. If the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building in his letter to its manager is able to provide more evidence such as the survey led among all the residents of the towers, expenses of the modification made and the bills received after this modification was made, then it will be possible to fully evaluate this argument.