As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the technology has detrimental effects on people’s creative thinking. In today’s world, where technology is the most developed field of human activity, it is difficult to discuss the extent of the impact the technology has on humanity. On the one hand, many studies have shown that the excessive exposure to technology causes mental health, physical and social suffers. On the other hand, if used appropriately, technology facilitates and improves the quality of our lives. While sound arguments can be made for both perspectives, a careful analysis reveals that there are a number of compelling reasons to disagree with the statement that technology deteriorates human intellectual abilities including problem solving. The paragraphs below will discuss the reasoning for this position and consider its implications.

In contrast to the statement, it is a fact that technological development, implementation and usage require problem solving. Technology is a product of problem solving which applies a knowledge from many different disciplines. For example, the evolution of the information technology industry, calls for problem solving strategy which can maintain a competitive advantage in the IT marketplace by identifying the root cause of the problems and preventing them. Furthermore, every technological invention and its implementation are a result of human intelligence and decision making. Consider university laboratories where professionals from different fields critically analyze the impacts of their technological solution and reevaluate existing solutions in order to predict possible outcomes and choose the most appropriate solution to a problem. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that technology, applying the problem solving strategies, stimulates creative thinking.

Further, the fact that today’s technological inventions are able to solve mundane problems, gives an opportunity for people to engage in more complex thinking. To illustrate, let us look at the examples from the calculator, used to solve simple math questions, to machine learning which helps to companies in data interpretation, learning from missed forecasts, and finding new correlations. All these machines are good at pattern matching, but still, they are just tools of human minds. Moreover, another strength of technology is that it provides access to information otherwise unavailable. Specifically, advanced Google research has improved the education and research, allowing acquirement of knowledge from the whole world. Further, the Internet connects people at a distance and allows them to share ideas. Consider numerous projects where participate different universities from all over the world. Electronic media like radios, televisions, internet, social media have ameliorated the exchange of ideas which has developed our societies. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that technological advances will not deteriorate one’s creative thinking, but rather improve it.

Finally, it is obvious that without imagination, our world would never be enriched by technological innovations which have improved the quality of human lives. This is true especially when it comes to healthcare, where medical technology plays a pivotal role in saving and ameliorating countless lives. Consider how brilliant innovations like MRI machines, have made improvements in the medical diagnosis. Additionally, artificial organs, and robotic prosthetic limbs, and more have made significant contributions to surgical advancements, and; thus, patient care in the whole world. However, it is a fact that an increase in the demand for new technologies causes more pressure on earth’s natural resources. For example, phone, computer, cars and planes are great technological inventions which have forever changed the world. Nonetheless, the increase in the demand for these technologies, requires an exploitation of irreplaceable resources, such as aluminum, whose maturation takes millions of years. Another example are the intensive farming practices where heavy applications of commercial fertilizers adulterate the soil. All these problems, dangerous for human lives, require a creative thinking of maverick scientists in order to overcome them.

In conclusion, while there are arguments to be made for both sides of this debate, it is clear that technology is an essential part of the human evolution. As shown above, technological inventions, have always been a product of human ability to think and solve numerous problems. Therefore, it is certain that technological benefits are enormous for the development of human intellectual abilities.