The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

The statement above comes from the perspective whether the greatness of the nation can be measured by welfare of all its people, or its surest proof is the success of its rulers, artists or scientists. There is no doubt that the greatness of the country invariably depends on the cumulative welfare of its people. This is a broad concept which includes many aspects of life such as freedom, human rights, physical well-being, public safety, social and economical equivalence, economic growth, equal opportunity non-discrimination, science and arts. cultural heritage. History of mankind is witness to the fact that the accomplishments of the leaders, artists and scientists ensure well-being of their nation’s people and thus, contribute to the greatness of the nation.

To begin, the history proves that the welfare of the people in the terms of liberty, human rights, public safety, non-discrimination has always been improved by the achievements of the national leaders. For example, Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States, with Emancipation Proclamation abolished slavery in the US which freed 3,5 million enslaved African Americans. This was a contribution of crucial importance for the well-being of the African Americans in the US. Furthermore, Lincoln’s other achievements are strengthening the federal government, saving the Union and modernizing the economy which helped enormously to the progress of the country. Among the other leaders who fighted for liberty was certainly Gandhi, the Father of the Indian nation and one of the most important leaders in the history of humanity. Gandhi was first leader who introduced, firstly in South Africa, as a lawyer of the Indian minority, and later in India, a non-violent civil disobedience. Gandhi’s greatest importance is in ending the British rule in India. Bringing the Independence to Indian people he improved the quality of their lives like no other leader before. Introducing non-violent civil disobedience, Gandhi inspired many leaders in the world such as Nelson Mandela in South Africa and Martin Luther King in the USA. Nelson Mandela dedicated his life for the fight against apartheid in South Africa. With the help of De Klerk who liberated him from 27 years of prison and, who helped him in the fight in ending the apartheid, Mandela finally, in 1994 ended the apartheid. End of the apartheid meant the end of the rule of the white race and discrimination the black, mulate and Indian people. Nelson Mandela was the first of the country elected by completely democratic election. The second example of leader who followed Gandhi’s non-violent civil disobedience principe was Martin Luther King. He fighted for the anti-discrimination of the African Americans. All these examples of the successful leaders show for the welfare of nation’s people it is pivotal to have the leader who will fight for their liberty and human rights and, in this way, improve their welfare.

Further, the greatness of the country today is measured by the social and economic equivalence of its people, public safety, physical well-being and economic growth. In these terms, President Roosevelt improved greatly the economic well-being of the American nation, by implementing New Deal programs and projects in the time of Great Depression in the US with which started the capitalism. For today’s greatest countries are considered Nordic countries, which means Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Iceland and Greenland. These countries follow a Nordic model which implies social and economic developmental policies. They have a low level of corruption and people have trust in politicians and police. Other example is Canada, where Prime Minister Harper, in the time of recession employed economic policies and promoted business in healthy way. This method made the citizens of Canada to not feel impact of the recession which influenced all the world. Third example of great country is clearly, Switzerland where welfare system is very strong. They have policies for high pensions for retired people with long nursing help.

In conclusion, some argue that welfare of the nation’s people is independent from the leaders, artists and scientist achievements. However, there are numerous examples in the past of the these leaders who helped in progress of their countries, that it is impossible to support this recommendation.