A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The curriculum has a central role in the educational system. It represents the totality of student experiences and the dynamics of the life learning process. In today’s educational reform, curriculum reform is a very important part. The prompt suggests that nations should have a unique curriculum for all schools before college. However, it is too far to say that this recommendation should be accepted for all schools for the below reasons.

Firstly, not all students have the same talents, abilities and ambitions. Therefore, they should not be educated in the same way. Further, it is a fact that not all students wish to enroll in the study at the university of a higher level. Some of them choose different kinds of craft as occupation and finish their education by completing high school studies. For those students, it is crucial to have a proper education to succeed in life. For this purpose, there are special high schools. Countries, where this kind of education is highly developed, are, for example, former Yugoslavian countries Serbia, Macedonia, Croatia and the others. In these countries, there are vocational secondary schools which last for 3 years where students are trained to become professional artisans. Here are included crafts such as hair stylist, pedicure and manicure specialist, cook, butcher, mason, wood maker, metalworker, auto-mechanic, electro-mechanic. Fact that these special secondary schools do not exist in the countries of the European Union, offers an opportunity for these professionals to find jobs easily and migrate to the European Union countries such as Germany. However, in my opinion, workers of all levels and fields have to be properly educated in order to become professionals and this is not possible if there is the same curriculum in all school.

Secondly, not everyone, even in the field of medicine, engineering or economics wants to pursue university studies. Also, in these fields, there are needed assistants. Therefore, for these professionals, there are secondary vocational schools in all above-mentioned fields in the duration of four years. For example, again, in former Yugoslavian countries, there are medical, technical and economic secondary schools which last for 4 years. They prepare future dental technicians, nurses, laboratory, pharmaceutical, physiotherapy technicians, electrical, mechanical and economic technicians. Due to the fact that in the other countries there are courses and not secondary schools for these kinds of professionals, technicians from Ex Yugoslavian countries easily find jobs in many countries in Europe. After seeing these examples, it is obvious that there is no much logic in implementing the same curriculum in all schools. Rather, it could be recommended that other countries should follow the example of Eastern European countries in order to provide highly qualified artisans and technicians.

Finally, there are students with special talents for different kinds of arts and sport. They train since their youngest age. In Russia and Yugoslavian countries, there are music primary schools where students in parallel with the regular primary school for eight years. Musical education is very rigorous, and similarly to sport training, it requires different lifestyle in order to be ready to succeed. These students have to decide already in their childhood their careers. Thus, for them studying in the same school where future physicians or lawyers are trained would be inappropriate. Music is a very broad field and it requires lifelong learning and dedication. Therefore, in above-mentioned countries there are also secondary music, arts and sports schools which prepare future musicians, artists and sports professionals for their careers.

Lastly, it is true that many people do not make life decisions at their youngest age. This is not a generally excepted way of growing. Also, subjects studied in general schools are relevant to a myriad of professions. That to say, these students, do not just have an opportunity to make decisions about their professions much later than arts or sports students, but by the time they graduate, they are prepared for applying in many different universities. It could be said that this fact bolsters the recommendation of the prompt above. In the other words, it appears that it is a good idea for these school to have the same national curriculum as this curriculum would be based on the same values, beliefs and educational philosophy characteristic for the nation. Hence, it would instill a national educational standard.

To conclude, the evidence presented in this essay shows that different professions require different types of education. This means that there should be different schools with different curriculum. Reason for this is the fact that, while some professions are more common and, thus more implemented in the general educational system, others like arts and sport require special schooling and formation.