The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

“Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner in his letter to the editor recommends to prohibit the skateboarding in order to increase the number of shoppers in Central Plaza, and thus improve the business there. To support his recommendation, the author of this letter points out that the decrease in the business in Central Plaza is caused by the skateboarders who also could be responsible for the increased litter and vandalism in this shopping mall. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, what is there is a new shopping mall opened in the city? It is a common case when there is a new shopping mall in the city that everyone goes there. Maybe shoppers are curious to see the new shopping mall and this caused a decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza. Further, what if there is a recession in the country? In this case, it is obvious that the general decrease in the number of shoppers will occur. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, can the store owner be sure about who is responsible for the litter and vandalism throughout the plaza? Maybe there is a group of teenagers who just find interesting to do this as entertainment. Furthermore, maybe there are new shoppers who came to the plaza and they are not behaving well as the shoppers who were coming to plaza until now. Maybe the skateboard users are there only for skateboarding, they respect all the rules of the plaza and take care of cleanness and tranquility.

Thirdly, even if it is true that the skateboard users are responsible for the decrease of the business, increased litter and vandalism throughout the plaza, is there a warranty that they will respect the decision of the store owners to prohibited skateboarding in the plaza? Maybe they will just do not respect the new rules. In this case, the author of the argument has made holes in the reasoning of the argument.

Lastly, even if the skateboarders contribute to improving the conditions of the business and conditions in the plaza, is it possible to bring back the old shoppers? Maybe they are already habituated to shop in the other shopping malls and they like it more.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer these three questions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the reliability of his suggestion.