Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

The statement above recommends that some people believe that competitiveness is more important than cooperation for leaders to succeed, while the others recommend that cooperation is the most important trait for a successful leader, especially in today’s world. In my opinion, competitiveness is an innate human characteristic and it is a basic condition for someone to become a leader, but only when it is understood as a support for positive ambitions. However, the history has shown that competitive leaders often did not use it for good achievements and progress of their nations, but rather competitiveness often has resulted in tragedies. Therefore, my believe is in line with modern leadership believes that the pivotal trait of today’s leaders is to be cooperative.

The fact that it is innate is the reason why I think that it is not needed to work on development of this feature, but on its control. there are many examples of the imperators and nations’ leaders who were highly competitive, which resulted in great tragedies for their countries and for whole world in general. For example, Adolf hitler who was a great supported of Pan-Germanism, anti-semitism, anti-communism was so competitive that could not reason with a clear mind. this resulted in Second world war which was a total katastrophy for Germany and for whole world. other example for unreasonable competitiveness in napoleon. From here comes the scientific term napoleon complex. he was very short and from here came his complex which resulted in great aggression. he was the emperor of France and conquestited great part of Europe for one decade. finally, as he wanted to concord whole world, he started towards Russia where his kingdom ended. these examples show that when there is uncontrolled competitiveness without cooperation and with reaching a common ground, soon or later the tragedy is warrantied.

On the other hand, there are examples of very cooperative leaders. Their success truly helped to their countries and people. For instance, gandhi was the leader of Indians, firstly in south africa, and then in india. gandhi was fighting all his life for human rights by non-violent civil disobedience. this model of protest and fight became an inspiration for whole world. gandhi achievement was end of the British rule in india. Following his model, Nelson mandela, the first democratically elected president of south africa fighted against apartheid. finally, in 1993, with the help from the previous president De Klerk, mandela succeeded. The third example of non-violent civil disobedience was the example of Martin Luther King who fighted against discrimination of African Americans in the USA. these leaders are proof that competition is much greater warranty for success in the world. They are inspiration for most leaders also today.

In conclusion, there are many examples of competitiveness in the world that soon or later resulted in complete unsuccess, literally tragedies. hitler is responsible for 11 million victims of the II world war, among which for 6 million Jews. while on the other side, the leaders who practiced collaboration and cooperation were always successful improving the well-being of the people of their nations.