The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company claims that the current crisis of his company’s business could be ended by investing in advertisement. He is sure that this would assure a greater number of audience. The author came to this conclusion basing on the fact that, this year, there are fewer people who are attending his company’s movies than ever before. This happens despite the increase in the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers than before. Director believes that extra advertising would resolve the current problem. However, before this claim can be evaluated properly , three questions must be answered.

Firstly, what is the actual situation of the movie industry in the country? What if there is a general decrease of the interest in movies in whole country? Maybe all there is a fewer audience in all movie projections, not only in this company. If this is true, in this case it would be wiser to invest in advertising not the movies of the company, but, instead there should be employed a marketing strategy that would attract the audience to movies explaining them what is the movie and why it is important to attend the movies.

Secondly, what if there is a new movie production company opened? What if people are curious to see what the other movie companies can make? They might be tired from the same style movies and would like to try something new. It is a common case that when new place opens in the city, everybody is going there, and the other places feel some decrease in public interest. Furthermore, maybe this new company produces better movies. In that case, it would better if Super Screen Company invests in producing better movies that in advertising of the current ones.

Finally, where are this positive reviews posted or published? What if they are on some websites or newspapers that only certain public, different than SSMPC’s prospective viewers, follows? This might be even some websites or newspapers that are not interesting for majority of people and they even do not know about them. In this case, it would be the most important to assure that the future reviews and advertisements are visible for majority of people. The smartest marketing strategy is always to advertise in media which has the greatest number of audience. This is most expensive way of advertising, but at the end, it pays off.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Marketing director has to find an answer to the question about the current situation of the movie industry in his city and country. Further, he has to look carefully if there is a new movie production company opened in his city. Lastly, he has to identify where those positive reviews he is arguing about are posted or published. If the advertising director is able to answer to these three questions then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to advertise Super Screen Movie Production Company’s movies.