The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company (SSMPC) claims that the current crisis of his company’s business could be ended by investing in an advertisement which would provide a greater number of audience. The author came to this conclusion basing on the fact that, this year, fewer people than ever before attended his company’s produced movies. This happened despite the increase in the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers during the past year. Director believes that extra advertising would resolve the current problem. However, before this claim can be evaluated properly, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, what is the actual situation of the movie industry in the country? What if there is a general decrease in the interest in movies in the whole country? Maybe there is a fall in movie attendance in general, not only in the movies produced by Super Screen Company. If this is true, it would be wiser to, instead of investing in company’s movies advertisement, employ a marketing strategy that would attract the audience to go to cinemas explaining them what is the art of filmmaking and why it is important to attend the movies for general knowledge.

Secondly, what if there is a new movie production company opened? What if people are curious to see what the other movie production companies can make? They might be tired of the same style movies and they would like to try something new. It is a common case that when new place opens in the city, everybody is going there, while the interest in the other places falls. Furthermore, maybe this new company produces better movies. In that case, it would be better for Super Screen Company to invest in producing better movies than in advertising of the current ones.

Finally, where are these positive reviews posted or published? What if they are on some websites or newspapers that only certain public, different than SSMPC’s prospective viewers, follows? This might be even some websites or newspapers that are not interesting for the majority of people and they even do not know about them. In this case, it would be the most important to assure that future reviews and advertisements are visible for the majority of people. The smartest marketing strategy is always to advertise in media that has the greatest number of audience. This is the most expensive way of advertising, but in the end, it pays off.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Marketing director has to find an answer to the question about the current situation of the movie industry in his city and country. Further, he has to look carefully if there is a new movie production company opened in his city. Lastly, he has to identify where those positive reviews he is arguing about are posted or published. If the advertising director is able to answer to these three questions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to advertise Super Screen Movie Production Company’s movies.