The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company (SSMPC) claims that the current crisis of his company’s business could be ended by investing in advertising which would provide greater audience participation in their movies. The author came to this conclusion basing on the fact that this year, fewer people than ever before attended his company’s produced movies. This happened despite the increase in the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers during the past year. However, before the director’s recommendation can be evaluated properly, three questions must be answered.

To begin, what is the actual situation of the movie industry in the country? What if there is a general decrease in the interest in movies in the whole country? Maybe there is a fall in movie attendance in general, not only in the movies produced by Super Screen Company. If this is true, it would be wiser to, instead of investing in company’s movies advertisement, employ a marketing strategy that would attract the audience to visit cinemas more often by explaining to them what is the art of filmmaking and why it is important for the general knowledge.

Further, what if there is a new movie production company opened in the city? What if people are curious to see what the other movie production companies can make? The audience might be tired of the same style movies and it is possible that they would like to try something new. It is a common case that when a new place opens in the city, everybody is going there, while the interest in the other places falls. Furthermore, maybe this new company produces better movies. In that case, it would be better for Super Screen Company to invest in producing better movies than in advertising the current ones.

Finally, where are these positive reviews posted or published? What if they are on some websites or newspapers that only certain public, different than SSMPC’s prospective viewers, follows? Reviews might be even on some websites or newspapers that are not interesting for the majority of people and they even do not know about them. In this case, it would be the most important to assure that future reviews and advertisements are visible for the majority of people. The smartest marketing strategy is always to advertise in media that has the greatest number of the audience. Although this is the most expensive way of advertising, in the end, it pays off.

In sum, in order to approve that his recommendation is the right solution for the problem, the author needs to answer a few questions. Firstly, he has to find an answer to the question about the current situation of the movie industry in his city and country. Further, he has to look carefully if there is a new movie production company opened in his city. Lastly, he has to identify the source of positive reviews he is arguing about. Without enough evidence, we cannot say that investment in advertising is really a wise choice in reaching the public.