A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum plays a central role in the educational system. It is the totality of student experiences and the dynamics of the life learning process. In today’s educational reform, curriculum reform is a very important part. The prompt suggests that nations should have a unique curriculum for all schools before college. However, it is too far to say that this recommendation should be accepted for all schools for the below reasons.

To begin, not all people have the same abilities and ambitions. On the one hand, some people dream of graduating from the best universities and becoming doctors, lawyers or artists, while the others are satisfied with not having such high level of education and such complex professions. These people are interested in different kinds of craft. They are, for example, hair stylists, manicurists, confectioners, bakers, cooks, meat men, shoemakers, car electricians or auto mechanics. These occupations require particular skills and knowledge of skilled work lower than college level knowledge. In Eastern Europe, for example, in the former Yugoslavian countries, there are secondary schools for professional artisans in the duration of three years. Furthermore, in the same countries, there are secondary schools for technicians in different fields, from medicine, electronics, mechanics to economics which last for four years. In all countries, there is a great demand for professionals of this kind, but there are no schools for them. Therefore, these people find easy jobs in many countries, such as Germany. After seeing these examples, it is obvious that there is no much logic in implementing the same curriculum in all schools. Rather, it could be recommended that other countries should follow the example of Eastern European countries in order to provide high qualified artisans and technicians.

Secondly, there are professions such as music, arts or sports that require talent and dedication since the youngest age. Again, in Eastern Europe, there is a formal education for these professionals. For music, education starts with the primary music school attained in parallel with the regular primary school for eight years. Then, there are secondary schools for music, arts and sports. For professional musician and athletes, it is necessary to make life decision already in their childhood. It is not possible to become a professional violinist or any kind of instrumentalist or sports champion in secondary school. Since the youngest age, it is very clear if someone can become a musician or an athlete. These professions require everyday work since the youngest age. Since music and sports training take many hours a day, it is obvious that the curriculum in this special school, cannot be the same as in the other schools. In addition to their instrumental studies, music students start studying all theoretical music subjects and humanities since the secondary school. Music and arts are very broad fields and, for these students would be a waste of time and energy studying the same subjects as in the other, regular schools.

Lastly, it is also true that many people do not make life decisions at their youngest age. This is not a generally excepted way of growing. Also, subjects studied in general schools are relevant to a myriad of professions. That to say, these students, do not just have an opportunity to make decisions about their professions much later than arts or sports students, but by the time they graduate, they are prepared for applying in many different universities. It could be said that this fact bolsters the recommendation of the prompt above. In the other words, it appears that it is a good idea for these school to have the same national curriculum as this curriculum would be based on the same values, beliefs and educational philosophy characteristic for the nation. Hence, it would instill a national educational standard.

To conclude, the evidence presented in this essay shows that different professions require different types of education. This means that there should be different schools with different curriculum. Reason for this is the fact that, while some professions are more common and, thus more implemented in the general educational system, others like arts and sport require special schooling and formation.