A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The curriculum has a central role in education. It represents all the experiences that students have in the classroom since the youngest age until graduation. Therefore, the content of teaching material and teaching methods are crucial in building future professionals. The recommendation above comes from the perspective that countries should have the same curriculum in all national schools. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement for three reasons.

Firstly, not all students have the same talents, abilities and ambitions. Therefore, they should not be educated in the same way. Further, it is a fact that not all students wish to study at the university of a higher level. For those students, it is crucial to have a proper education to succeed in their lives. For this purpose, there are vocational secondary schools in the duration of 3 years where students are trained to become professional artisans. Furthermore, there are secondary schools for technicians in different fields, from medicine, electronics, mechanics to economics which last for four years. This kind of education is highly developed, for example, in former Yugoslavian countries Serbia, Macedonia, Croatia and the others. In all countries, there is a great demand for professionals of this kind, but there are no schools for them. This fact offers an opportunity for these professionals from former Yugoslavian countries to find jobs easily and migrate to the European Union countries such as Germany. After seeing the above examples, it is obvious that there is not much logic in implementing the same curriculum in all schools. Rather, it could be recommended that other countries should follow the example of Yugoslavian countries in order to provide highly qualified artisans and technicians.

Secondly, there are students with special talents for different kinds of arts and sport. They train since their youngest age. In Russia and Yugoslavian countries, there are music primary schools where students in parallel with the regular primary school for eight years. Musical education is very rigorous, and similarly to sport training, it requires a different lifestyle in order to be ready to succeed. These students have to decide already in their childhood their careers. Thus, for them studying in the same school where future physicians or lawyers are trained would be inappropriate. Music is a very broad field and it requires lifelong learning and dedication. Therefore, in above-mentioned countries, there are also secondary music, arts and sports schools which prepare future musicians, artists and sports professionals for their careers.

Lastly, it is true that many people do not make life decisions at their youngest age. This is not a generally excepted way of growing. Also, subjects studied in general schools are relevant to a myriad of professions. That to say, these students, do not just have an opportunity to make decisions about their professions much later than arts or sports students, but by the time they graduate, they are prepared for applying to many different universities. It could be said that this fact bolsters the recommendation of the prompt above. In the other words, it appears that it is a good idea for these school to have the same national curriculum as this curriculum would be based on the same values, beliefs and educational philosophy characteristic for the nation. Hence, it would instill a national educational standard.

To conclude, the evidence presented in this essay shows that different professions require different types of education. This means that there should be different schools with different curriculum. Reason for this is the fact that, while some professions are more common and, thus more implemented in the general educational system, others like arts and sport require special schooling and formation.