A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Curriculum has a central role in the education. It represents all the experiences that students have in the classroom since the youngest age until they graduate. Therefore, the content of teaching material and teaching methods are crucial in building the future professionalists. The recommendation above comes from the perspective that countries should have the same curriculum in all national schools. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement for three reasons.

Firstly, not students have same talents, abilities and ambitions. Therefore, they should not be educated in the same way. It is a fact that not all students wish to study at the university of higher level. Some of them choose different kinds of craft as occupation and finish their education by completing high school studies. For those students it is crucial to have a proper education to succeed in life. For this purpose there are special high schools. Countries where this kind of education is highly developed are, for example, countries of ex Yugoslavia, as Serbia, Croatia, Macedonia and others. They have secondary which last 3 years where students are trained to become professional artisans. Here are included crafts such as hair stylist, pedicure and manicure specialist, cook, woodmaker, meatmen, workers with metals, auto mechanic, electro mechanic, Fact that this special secondary schools does not exist in the countries of European Union, offers an opportunity for this people to easily find jobs and migrate to EU countries such as Germany. However, in my opinion, workers of all levels and fields have to be properly educated in order to become professionals and this is not possible if there is the same curriculum in all school.

Secondly, not everyone, even in the field of medicine, engineering or economics wants to pursue university studies. Also, in this fields there are needed assistents. Therefore, for these professionals there are secondary schools in all above mentioned fields. For example, again in Ex Yugoslavian countries, there are medical, technical and economic secondary schools which last for 4 years. They prepare future stomatologist technicians, different kind of nurses, laboratory, pharmaceutical, physiotherapy technicians, electrical, mechanical and economical technicians. Again, due to the fact that in the other countries there are courses and not secondary schools for these kind of professionals, technicians from Ex YU countries easily find jobs in many countries in Europe. Also this would not be possible if there was the same national curriculum in all educational institutions.

Lastly, there are students who are talents in different kinds of arts and sport. They train since their youngest age. In Russia and Yugoslavian countries there are music primary schools where students in parallel with the regular primary school for eight years. Musical education is very rigorous, and similarly to sport training, it requires different life-style in order to be ready to succeed. These students have to decide already in their childhood their careers. Thus, for them studying in the same school where future physicians or lawyers are trained would be inappropriate. Music is a very broad field and it requires lifelong learning and dedication. Therefore, in above mentioned countries there are also secondary music, arts and sport schools which prepare future musicians, artists and sport professionals for their careers.

In conclusion, in some fields such as medicine, low or engineering where students wish to pursue university studies, it would be appropriate for them to study in the school with same curriculum. Reason for this is the fact that those, general curriculums imply mostly subjects relevant to those fields. However, for music and other arts and also sports, it is necessary the future professionals to be educated in the special schools employing special curriculum relevant to the music, arts and sport.