The effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examining the

well-being of that country’s citizens.

In the history of the world there are numerous examples of countries’ leaders with different characteristics. The fact is that the destiny of the countries and their people depends on their leaders. Thus, if leader has improved the well-being of his country’s people he is considered a Father of the nation and its hero, but if the leader has followed just his own ambitions which not always are really valuable and positive, the destiny of the country and its people becomes a tragedy. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the welfare of the people of one country should by measured by the effectiveness of its leader.

To begin, there are many leaders in the history who have fighted for better life of their people. these leaders often used cooperation instead of competitiveness which approved their effectiveness and resulted with a victory. For instance, Gandhi who was a leader of Indians, firstly in south africa and later in India, by his approach of non-violent civil disobedience has won against the British rule. His leadership model was followed in whole world. For example, Nelson mandela, the first black democratically elected in south africa using non-violent civil disobedience model

ended the apartheid in 1994. Helped by the previous president de klerk, mandela won against discrimination of the nations and race others then white in south africa for which both mandela and de klerk won nobel prize for The peace in the world. The third example of non-violent disobedience is martin luther king. he fighted against discrimination of the African americans in the us. martin luther king was the youngest leader in the world to be awarded with nobel prize for the Piece in the world too.

The effectiveness of these leaders is obvious. They dedicated their lives for the freedom of their people which is the first human right without human progress is impossible.

Further, in the conditions of peace, the well-being of the people still depends on many conditions. these are physical well-being, public safety and social and economical equality, education, science, arts, cultural heritage. The countries considered for the best well-being of their people nowadays are certainly countries where the effectiveness of the leaders is measured by instilling all these conditions of people’s welfare. For instance, nordic countries are considered the best for the well-being of their people. Their success is in establishing in socalled “nordic model” which implies social and economic policies followed by all nordic countries, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Iceland and Greenland. This model assures that these countries are safe and stable. Since there is no corruption, their citizens have trust in the countries’ politics and police which pivotal for the quality of life. other great example of country with good well-being of people is Canada. Their Prime Minister Stephen Harper employed economical policies and propagated healthy business in the time of recession which saved Canadians from feeling impacts of the recession. other similar examples was much before employed by president Roosevelt in the time of great Depression when he introduced The New Deal programs and projects which developed american economy.

In conclusion, the greatness and well-being of one nation can be seen in the quality of its leader. if leader is negative, as it was Hitler then his ambitions results in tragedy of Germany and whole world. In contrast, examples as Lincoln and his Emancipation Proclamation can only improve the citizens’ welfare significantly.