The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception-pocetak ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony appeared that this orchestra could become an institution able to provide funding for itself independently from any kind of external funding such as the previous funding from the city of Grandview and private contributions. To support his recommendation, the author of this argument points out that the audience of the symphonic orchestra has increased which has, consequently, caused the increase in the revenue. Therefore, the author assumes that this fact can ensure higher ticket prices and a larger audience. While it is tempting to believe that this argument based on the information provided by the author is plausible, it would be fallacious to do so. This argument is not based on facts, but rather on assumptions. The lack of the author’s in-depth analysis and missing evidence have left holes in the reasoning of this argument.

First and foremost, the author of this argument argues that the symphony last year employed an internationally known conductor who has attracted great musicians to play with the symphony. In stating this, however, the author makes a broad assumption without providing any relevant data which would support his recommendation. Indeed, there is not presented any information about the number of audience who has attended that concert. It might that the symphony had great guest soloists, but the concert was not attended in a great number of people. The author of the argument does not mention the audience at all which does not help him in corroborating his recommendation. If this scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Further, in the argument, it is illustrated that after this concert, the private contributions to the symphony have doubled and the concerts organized in the park have become much more popular among the people. However, the author does not state that there were tickets, but that the concert was funded by private contributions. Therefore, there is not any warranty that the audience would pay for the ticket if it was introduced. The author should provide information about the tickets if all the concert was paid by the private funding, or also the audience contributed to this. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author of the argument assumes that increased popularity is the warranty for the tickets price to be increased and even, that more expensive tickets and a larger number of the audience can increase the revenue. However, the author fails (falls) to provide any information about the number of the audience and the tickets at all. It might be that the concerts were that popular because they were free. Further, even if there were tickets, maybe there was a great number of the audience because the tickets were not expensive. Unless the author offers sufficient evidence, the assumption is logically flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed, due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence about the tickets for the concerts and the actual number of the audience, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of this recommendation.