The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony."The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known condu

The author suggests that the Grandview Symphony will not need any financial support from the city government anymore because the new famous conductor can attract a lot more audiences and private funds than before. However, this argument still lacks some evidences in order to evaluate its claims.

First of all, the argument does not mention the amount of money that the symphony profits from its performance after hiring the new conductor. Although, the high performance conductor can dramatically increase the number of audiences and double private contributions, there is still no evidence that the income of the symphony can cover all of its expenses for arranging their events. The cost of auditorium, musical instrument, lighting system, and especially high quality conductor can be incredibly high and, without government funding, the symphony can be bankrupt.

Secondly, the author states that the symphony can earn more money by raising their ticket prices. However, the increased ticket prices can definitely decrease the number of audiences. Accordingly, the number of audiences may gradually reduce and the total ticket sale will even be lower than the sale at the current ticket price. Therefore, there should be a survey to find the opinion of the audiences on the current ticket prices. If the most of audiences think that they can afford more expensive ticket for the performance, the author’ claim may be reasonable. In the other hand, if the audiences do not agree with the increased price, the statement can be flawed.

Last but not least, the argument implies that the well-known conductor can attract high-profile guest musicians to the symphony’ performance. This claim may be convincing by referring to the previous performance’s records that have a number of high-profile guest musicians but no one can guarantee that this conductor will be able to attract the same number of fabulous guest musicians in the future. These guest musicians may prefer to change their performing venues to the different places around the world. Subsequently, there may be not as much guest musicians in the future as the number predicted by the author and the symphony will not be able to keep the number of its audiences to be as much as the current audiences.

All in all, the argument still needs a lot of evidences in order to prove that the symphony does not need the government support.