The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Argument is an unavoidable task that everyone needs to experience in dealing with people. Many different types of situations can test the argument’s ability in different ways. I personally agree with the statement which claims that the best test of an argument is to convince someone with an opposing view point for many reasons.

First, to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint, we need to understand their points of views and find the reason why their views are wrong. For example, when we want to convince someone to go to bed before midnights, it is not enough to tell them the benefits of going to bed early. Those people always have some reasons that make them ignore those benefits. Some people may have a lot of work to finish each day. Some of them may need to take care of their family members. Therefore, the person who want to convince these people to go to bed earlier needs to describe them why it is more important to go to bed before midnight than to do other tasks. We may tell them that if they want to work efficiently, they need to sleep long enough to have a fresh body and mind that can generate new brilliant ideas. We may also tell them that if they do not sleep enough and get sick, who will take care of their family members. These arguments are obviously more difficult than telling them only the pros of going to bed early.

Some may argue that convincing people that do not have opposing viewpoint is also difficult. This may be true. Convincing people to eat vegetable may be difficult if they do not usually eat them. However, if they do not have opposing viewpoint such as the belief that eating vegetable can damage their health, it is not too difficult to convince them. We can only tell them the benefits they will get from eating vegetable such as improving the digestion system and less chance of the illness. Then, when those people realize these benefits they will certainly try to eat more vegetable because they have not had any opposite view before. Therefore, the ability to convince people to agree with the new viewpoints they have no idea before is not as much challenging as the ability to convince people to change from their opposing view point to a new one.

All in all, I think that if we want to test the ability of argument, we need to test it in the most difficult situations which are the situations that people has opposing points of views.