To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to addre

The ethical and moral standards are the most important things for all careers and positions. A public official who cannot maintain their ethical and moral standards always cause a lot of problems to the society and also himself. Therefore, I totally agree that a public official who want to be an effective leader should maintain the highest moral standards.

Public officials have crucial roles in keeping all the society’s activities to run smoothly. The police have a responsibility to find and bring criminals to the courts. The judges have to make decision whether suspects are guilty or not and give them the proper punishments. If these officials do not have good ethical or moral standards, they may not be able to provide their services to all citizens equally. When an unethical policeman receives a bribe from a criminal, he may release that criminal without any punishment. This type of immoral actions will cause the society to be full of criminals and the unrested situations will certainly occur frequently. This example shows that unethical officers will bring the societies to be corrupt and they cannot be effective leaders for those societies.

Not only unethical officials will lead the societies to the disasters but they also finally put themselves into problems. The societies cannot accept the immoral behaviors of public officials because these behaviors do not benefit the majority of people. Moreover, officials cannot hide their immoral behavior for a long time. We can see several political leaders who involve in the corruptions being caught in the end and they need to spend their remaining life in jails. People certainly do not consider these punished officials as effective leaders.

Some may argues that the effective leaders can take some immoral actions in order to benefit their society in some ways. For example, a diplomat may make secret deals with some countries to let them accept illegal goods from his country. The deal may provide a lot of income to the country in a short term but no secret can last forever. Finally, other nations will be able to track this unethical behavior and this country can be banned by the other countries. It may not be able to export any good and the country economy will finally collapse. This example shows that the leaders who have immoral behaviors will bring the nation to the downfall and should not be considered as an effective leader at all.

In conclusion, the ethical and moral standards are the essential criteria for public officials to be effective leaders. Without these standards, they will be unsuccessful to bring the societies and themselves to the glory.