The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

There are several indicators for measuring the greatness of nations and each indicator cannot measure all aspects of the greatness. Therefore, choosing the suitable indicator mainly depends on the definition of the greatness and there is not a certain indicator that can determine a great nation.

If one interprets that the great nation should offer as much happiness as possible to its people, the surest indicator for the greatness measurement is probably the welfare of all people. If the nation can provide satisfied amount of food, clothes, medicine and required facilities to its people, the people will have a high quality of life and certainly have a lot of happiness. In this case, the achievements of its rulers, artist or scientists may be minor indicators. The nation may not have the best ruler. It may have no priceless artworks from the artists and no advanced scientific achievement. On the other hand, the nation has abundant natural resources such as food, rare minerals, oil and gas. These resources can provide the nation and its people a lot of income and those people will certainly be able to purchase anything they want. When we use the welfare of people as an indicator for the greatness of this country, this country will be a great nation in term of people’s happiness regardless of its rulers, artists, or scientist.

In contrast, if one implies the greatness of nations as an ability to contribute a great impact to all other nations, the achievements of its rulers, artists, and scientists can be the surest indicator for the measurement of the greatness. Great rulers can make change to other nations by several ways. For example, they may acquire the neighbor’s territories by military or diplomacy methods. These rulers can also convince the other nations to change their political policy. We can see the ability of the previous Soviet Union’s leaders that can change the surrounding countries to communism and make the Soviet Union a great nation at that time. Great scientists can invent new technology to their nations and also the other nations around the world. Thomas Edison created many novel electrical devices such as light bulbs and radios. These devices could be sold to all nations around the world and made the United State a great country. Therefore, the achievement of the rulers, artists and scientists is one of the best indicators if we think that the great nations have to make a significant impact to the world.

In conclusion, the surest indicator for great nation depends on the definition of the greatness. As long as there are many possible definitions, the indicator can be varied from one to one.