Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for t

Long-term, realistic goals are crucial factors for determining the success of people. However, I do not think that these goals are more important than immediate fame and recognition. Therefore, young people should be encouraged to pursue both long-term, realistic goals and immediate fame. I will explain the reasons for my argument in this essay.

First, immediate fame and recognition can encourage people to continue their tasks. For example, if a researcher wants to create a new efficient method to produce electricity from biomass, it may take five to ten years to finish the project. Without any immediate recognition, the researcher may think that his research is not much important and, after two or three years, he may not pay much attention to this research and try to change his research topic. In contrast, if the researcher try to seek immediate recognition by publishing his idea to the public. He can suddenly get a lot of praise and receive many awards from the public for his innovative idea. This recognition will stimulate him to spend all of his effort to the project in order to show the results to the society that is waiting for it.

Second, immediate fame can prove that the one’s goal is in the right direction. If someone does not try to seek immediate fame and wait until his final goal is met, he may finally find that his goal is not valuable for the society at all. For instance, a teacher in my school tried to make a computer program that could teach mathematics to his children and he tried to seek immediate fame by presenting his idea to students and other teachers. He found that his idea did not get much attention from them because the students preferred to study with humans rather than a computer program. Accordingly, the teacher changed his goal and spent his time for other project instead. He might waste a lot of time in this project without any return if he does not try to find the immediate fame to prove that his goal was interesting or not.

Someone may argue that long-term and realistic goals are the only things that can benefit the society, so we should not seek immediate fame and recognition. This is not true because the immediate fame and recognition can benefit the society by introducing many role models and many ideas to people in the society. Although, these ideas are not finished or unrealistic, they can encourage may people to try new things for the better societies.

All in all, I believe that young people should be encouraged to pursue both long-term goal and immediate fame because both of them can finally lead people to their success.